Voice Lessons

February 13th, 2013

 

Today Jamie and I talked about resonating the sound from our vocal mechanisms in the molars of our teeth when we sing ah and ee vowels. A way that I have come up with to help me remember this is by focusing the sound in the tiny space in my mouth where my wisdom teeth used to be. I got them out pretty early for my age so theres just this huge space behind my back teeth and I am going to work on putting the sound there. We talked about working out sound like a whine which is weird for me because I feel like we are taught from such a young age not to whine but now that I’m finally getting serious about the thing I love doing and want to spend my life doing I have to learn how to whine again. That’s a pretty good metaphor for life I’d say. Got to touch your roots to be true to yourself. 

 

I also found that using that random purple wall in the room is actually really useful. Its so much easier to relax and release the tension and let your mind go blank when you are not thinking about all of the things that you have to do that day and you essentially have to let your mind go blank. I think that using that wall a blank space will help me when I’m in performance mode which is what I feel like I struggle with the most. (stage fright) I’m excited to take what I’ve learned and apply it to pieces that are more my own personal style.  

Leave a Reply

