I Was Practicing Diplomacy and Self-control

I originally wrote this for The Roundtable but decided not to submit it. I think It works pretty well on this blog.

Beloit Insults: We need to talk  

By: Caroline Paxton

I don’t know if you heard about it but there was this page on Facebook a little while back that provided an open forum for everyone at Beloit College to dish out anonymous jabs to one another. Maybe you read it.  Maybe you even posted a thing or two about how goofy Dalton Deckert’s cowboy hats. And maybe you laughed because it was funny.

But theres always a moment with these things where all fun stops. Its usually when you’re scrolling along and out of the blue you see your name pop-up on the timeline. and you read what someone wrote and at first like all the others you think its funny. But then you start freaking out because no one made a single comment about it and you assume its because they all think its true. You think the whole world is staring at you whispering about your untimely social demise. Maybe that didn’t happen to you but maybe it happened to someone you know.

Now I’m not going to sit here and share my beliefs about how there is a special place in hell reserved for the curator of this page. That’s what Twitter is for. But because it seems like the administration has abandoned the pursuit of the BI perpetrator, (Right-fully so, they are distinguished academic leaders who’s time is better spent on things that matter more than the dump I just took), and because I’m taking a pretty light course load this semester I’ve taken it upon myself to do a little investigating.

I found out who it was and, I found out why they did it. But I don’t care anymore, and I’m not mad just a little disappointed.

Leave a Reply

